Agro Polytechnic


About Directorate of Agro-Polytechnics :

            Ten no. of Agro-polytechnic centres in 10 agro-climatic zones of Odisha have been created under O.U.A.T. with an objective to provide professional education (Diploma) in Agriculture and allied sectors to +2 Sci. pass out students for self-employment and to meet the need of skilled manpower of the state in agriculture and allied sectors by creating para extension workers and para professionals at grass root level.



Theory and practical classes are being conducted by well qualified teaching staff in modern classrooms and Laboratories and farms available in Agro-polytechnic Centres /KVK/RRTTS/Colleges of OUAT.

More emphasis is being given to the field oriented, climate suited practical for building self-confidence of the students as paraprofessionals or para-extension workers, which in result will boost them for self-employment in future.

Field visit:

The students are regularly exposed to the rural communities, farmers field, research centres, Govt farms, ICAR institutes, processing units, markets to have a hands on experience of the ground realities and farming conditions of rural Odisha through special Field trips.


Apart from the regular practical classes the students are being assigned different works to grow their creativity, professional skills and confidence to be a successful entrepreneur in agriculture or allied sector.

Selection for Admission:

Ten Agro-Polytechnic Centre under OUAT are offering two years Diploma course Agro-Polytechnic in the four disciplines such as Agriculture Science, Horticulture Science , Animal Science and Fishery Science with intake capacity of 20 per year at each Agro-polytechnic centre. The academic Qualification required to be posed by a candidate is as follows.

Name of the Diploma Course in Agro-Polytechnic

Minimum Qualification

Subjects in +2Science /equivalent

Agriculture Science

+2 Science with minimum

of 50% marks in aggregate

including extra optional.

(for SC/ST/PH candidates 40%)

P.C.M. or P.C.B

Horticulture Science



Fishery Science



Animal Science




* P-Physics C-Chemistry M-Mathematics B-Biology

Curriculum of various of Diploma :

            The curriculum of different Diploma course has been made by OUAT.

Course Programme :

            The course programme is of two years duration having four complete semesters with  both theory and practical component. The total mark in one subject is 100 and measured in 10.0 scale. The  course programme, result declaration and award of certificate is done through  the OUAT administration.

Department :

            There are four disciplines in Agro Polytechnic distributed as below :

            Diploma in Agriculture Science –       Six Centres

            Diploma in Horticulture Science –      Two Centres

            Diploma in Animal  Science –            One Centre

            Diploma in Fishery  Science – One Centre

Events including Calender :

            An uniform time line for academic events including calendar has been framed for all the colleges and Agro Polytechnic Centres to Synchronise the academics of the University.

Faculties :

            There  is sanction post of one Principal and four Instructors for each Agro Polytechnic Centres which is under the Administrative control of one Director  of Polytechnic at Directorate of Polytechnic, OUAT, Bhubaneswar.



                                                                                  Director of Polytechnic